facebooklatest-news close curriculumceophomekey-docs newsletterparents-and-childrenphonesecure-areaarrow-rightonline-paymentsearch arrow-downtwittertranslate about-usalert calendar
  • Search
  • Translate

Translate / Traduire / Übersetzen / Tłumaczyć / Išversti / Tulkot / Traducir

School Logo

St Mary's C of E

School Bideford


At St Mary’s we treat the Safeguarding of ALL children as a priority.  Everyone at St. Mary’s Primary School is committed to safeguarding and is responsible for keeping our children safe.
We do this by: 
•    providing a safe environment for children to thrive;
•    identifying children who are suffering or are likely to suffer significant harm 
•    taking appropriate action to ensure they are kept safe both at school and at home.


To ensure children are safe we have systems for the purpose:
•    preventing unsuitable people working with children
•    promoting safe practice and challenge unsafe practice
•    effective identification of concerns and initiating or taking  appropriate action
•    contributing to effective partnerships between all relevant safeguarding services

If you have any concerns about the safety of any child please speak to one of the adults responsible for Safeguarding, please see document below for named responsible people. .  If this is not possible for you to speak to one of our safeguarding officers then you can contact the Local Authority’s Multi-Agency Safeguarding Hub (MASH) using the details below.

A copy of our safeguarding policy, behaviour policy and complaints procedure can be foundalong with all other policies on our policies page by clicking this link.

Some useful information for parents and children can be found in our E-Safety and safeguarding section by clicking the link below.

Staff With Responsibility For Safeguarding of Children



Senior Designated Safeguarding Officer


Mrs Rachael O’Dell



Deputy Designated Safeguarding Officers


Dr Stuart Boon

Mrs Zoe Stevens

Mrs Candy Daffern



Miss Claire Stacey

Miss Michelle Jackson

Miss Abbie Brailey




Nominated Governor with Responsibility for Safeguarding


Mr Alex Coyle




For Early Help, consultation and all other enquiries please contact:

Telephone:  0345 155 1071

E-mail: mashsecure@devon.gov.uk

Fax: 01392 448951


Enquiry Form available at:



Post: Multi-Agency Safeguarding Hub,

PO Box 723, Exeter EX1 9QS

Emergency Duty Team – out of hours

0845 6000 388

Police – non emergency – 101


For all LADO enquiries Exeter (01392) 384964